Running Excuses

I love running.  For those particularly clever readers, perhaps my “handle” gave it away.  Despite my obsession with my sport, it always surprises me how many excuses I come up with when it’s time for my run.

Today’s excuse?  Aww, gee, it’s too cold out.  Really?  It was at least 40 degrees.  This week we were in the teens.  I got out for at least one or two runs outside.  I was not miserable on those runs.

Part of the problem is that I feel like my routine has been a little “off” this week.  It is getting dark so early.  Often by the time I finally get home it is dark.  Unfortunately, we have had a number of pedestrians who have been hit by cars lately.  The high snow banks are a part of the problem.

Note the Road ID

I have been know to go out into a snowstorm.  I try to be smart and wait until the plows have recently been through.  I wear my reflective vest.  I don’t use my i-pod when I’m on the roads.  I tell my family exactly where I’m going.  I run against traffic.  I wear my Road ID. If you don’t have one, you should put it on your list.

This week I’ve mostly relegated myself to the gym.  I cannot stand the treadmill, but have been trying to muddle through at least a portion of a run.  If I don’t complete the run then I hop over to the elliptical.  It’s easier to read a magazine or book on the elliptical machine.

I can certainly understand why it can be hard for people to stick with an exercise routine.  There are always excuses.  Today I reminded myself that there will be no way that I will be out in the fresh air running and will regret it. Sometimes it’s hard at the beginning, but I always feel so much better when the run is completed.

I was right.  The Fashionista gave me an extra push to get out there by asking to join me for a portion of my run.  Granted, it took us two hours to get out of the door.  TF couldn’t find anything appopriate she found acceptable to wear.  I was frantically trying to keep TF and IB’s gingerbread houses from collapsing.  As the clock ticked on, I had to make IB lunch.

We finally got out and sure enough it was magical.  TF and I enjoyed each other’s company for 2 miles.  I finished another 4 miles reveling in the heat wave we were having. I had some peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle at home.

This week's forecast

This week’s forecast is not too promising.  We’re looking at 3-4 days of snow and wind.  I’ll probably be back at the gym.  Tomorrow’s agenda calls for a spinning class or two.  After that I hope to be chomping at the bit to get back outside.  If not, I’ll give myself a mental kick, will get out there and it will come rushing back to me.  I love to run.

–Running Girl

Leave a comment