Locs of Love

We have taken the leap.  I have started locs on Island Boy’s hair.  The Fashionista and I have been interested in this hairstyle for quite some time.  The Major Some other members of the family are not quite so on board.  Remember, the twin thing?

You  may be asking yourself, “What are locs?”  Some people call them dreadlocs.  Some folks refuse to call them “dreadlocs”  saying, ” Dreadlocs?  There’s nothing dreadful about them.”  I’m not quite in that camp, but it sticks in my head enough that now I can’t call them dreadlocs either.

Whatever you choose to call them, they are a lot of work at the beginning!  I am starting with the palm rolling technique.  After I shampooed, conditioned and detangled his hair, I sectioned it off.  I worked a bit of Carol’s Daughter Loc Butter through each section of hair.  Then I took the chunk between my palms and rolled in one direction until it began to curl in on itself.  Then I clipped the section.

Sounds easy, right?  As the day wears on and Island Boy goes about his merry and very busy way, pieces become unraveled.  I got nervous about this.  Am I doing it right?  Am I missing a step?  Why is his hair unraveling?

The back of his hair is taking.  I thought it would.  It is curlier and became tangled easily.  I can’t quite figure that out since he doesn’t even sleep on his back.  The top and sides are the parts most likely to untangle.

Thank goodness for the internet, email and a network of moms.  I sent out a few cries of help!  An incredibly helpful mom informed me that locs are pretty impossible to do wrong.  There are lots of ways to get there.  My way can be time consuming, but ultimately looks neater and smoother.

Another awesome mom was willing to share photos of her boys when she first started their locs.  Oh, whew!  They looks very similar to IB’s.  She started with longer hair, so theirs’ were longer.

I am enjoying this time with IB.  I’m currently obsessing about what his hair is doing.  I will admit that I spend 15-20 minutes on his hair in the morning.  Compare and contrast this with the zero minutes I spend on mine.  In the evening I repeat the process, but I’m a bit more thorough because I have more time.

What does Island Boy think of all of this?  So far he hasn’t gone screaming from the room when I approach with the clips and Loc Butter.  I take that as a good sign.  Honestly, I think he really enjoys the attention.  I know he loves it when his teachers and friends at school compliment him on his hair.

I find this a great time to bond with him.  Yes, he is often watching tv or playing a game while I am working on his hair.  Still, he talks to me when I’m doing his hair.  The Major likes to comment on how Island Boy wants to share his world with his Mama.  “Look, Mama!  Look at this!” and “Mama, Mama!  Did you see that?”  I love it!

As the days roll by I should be able to spend less time on his hair.  Fingers crossed.  Wait, maybe it should be locs crossed.

–Running Girl


5 responses to this post.

  1. i want hair like that…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lynne Levy on October 15, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Have you read Anne Lamotte’s Travelling Mercies; I am pretty sure that is the book of hers that has the description of when she decided to do dreads in her blond furry hair. It is a treat to read, as is the whole book.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lisa N. on October 15, 2010 at 10:30 am

    soooooooo cute!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Running Girl on October 15, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Mike, what a great way to spend the day before the Marathon…getting locs! You’d look fabulous.

    Lynne, thanks for the recommendation. I’ll definitely pick up the book.

    Lisa, THANKS!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Eden on October 17, 2010 at 10:03 am

    So, so, sooooo cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

