Perspective

Island Boy had good timing this December.  He had a growth spurt and he had some pretty serious flood pants going on.  Lucky for him Christmas was just around the corner.  He received several pairs of new jeans to go with the belts Santa brought for him.

I gathered up his 4T pants and got ready to donate them.  Meanwhile, I discovered several bins of clothes in the basement that The Fashionista no longer wears.

So many moms I know will sniff and wipe a tear saying, “How quickly they grow up.  I hate this feeling.  I want them to stay little forever.”

I am not sentimental like that.  I don’t think I was sentimental with the older two, but I’m definitely not now.  Instead, I’m feeling grateful and rather joyful.  My little boy is here at Kay Nou.  We can watch him grow right before our eyes.

Every time I went to visit Island Boy on his little island,  he had changed a little.  We had missed the changes as they happened.  It was sad.  He would be wearing some outfit or other that I had left with him after my previous visit.  They would be a little too small, well worn and pretty dirty.

I would have new clothes for him to wear and take back to the orphanage.  I would smile wistfully when another adoptive mom or someone passing through would take a photo of IB and he was wearing something I had purchased for him.

Here's a photo I received this week. Only 11 months after he's been home.

I would spend countless hours scanning the internet for a glimpse of IB.  When I was rewarded with a new photo, it was bittersweet.  We were so happy to see him, but sad that someone else was taking the photo of him.  Someone else was seeing him and able to post photos of him.

I do not miss those days.  Now I get to choose his clothes for him every day.  I get the privilege of laundering his clothes.  I can watch each day for signs that he is growing.  When he does,  I know I was responsible for feeding him, nourishing him with healthy foods, playing with him and loving him every day.

It feels so good to finally have IB home where he belongs.  It’s been 11 months now, but I don’t think I’ll ever get over the feeling of being grateful and joyful.  I’m grateful for the care and love he received while he was in Haiti.  I’m grateful that he’s here and healthy with us.  I’m joyful to watch him grow each and every day.

5Ts here we come!

-Running Girl

I've been encouraging IB to choose his own outfits and to dress himself without assistance. Here he is today with a shirt that is way too small.

Age 2, when the shirt still fit

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lisa on December 30, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I am sooo happy you get to see his growth daily.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Eden on January 1, 2011 at 9:17 am

    This made me smile! Great point of view. And a one year home celebration must be coming. How much your lives have changed for the better. You should have cake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

