Island Boy’s Best Reads of 2010

We are a family of readers.  Island Boy is no exception to the rule.  He has always loved books.

The Major and I have held on to some of our favorites from childhood and from when Subway Dude and The Fashionista were younger.  I’m pretty sure the books were supposed to be for our grandchildren, but here we are.

I have a funny childhood story about children’s books.  My mother was an art teacher.  As an adult, I mentioned that I never had Harold and the Purple Crayon. My mother said, “Oh no.  Those drawings are terrible.  I would never have bought you that book.”

Here is a list of books that IB requests again and again.  He has excellent taste.  I’m quite certain my mother would approve of all of the illustrations.  Maybe not Curious George, but how can you resist that little monkey?

Mama’s Right Here by Liza Baker.  Illustrated by David McPhail.  I picked this book up at the grocery store one day and knew it was going to be a keeper.  David McPhail is a fabulous illustrator.  The main characters are kangaroos.  The little kangaroo has all kinds of adventures, including going to school.  The little one always comes home to Mama.

On the Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman is gorgeous.  It’s a great one for any child, but especially for an adopted child.  The world celebrates the child’s birth, whispering his name on the breeze.

All the World by Liz Garton Scaonlon and Marla Frazee.   This was given to us as a gift.  Please considering buying this incredible book for a newborn in your life.

Big Momma Makes the World by Phyllis Root and illustrated by Helen Oxenbury.  This is the creation story with a twist.

Richard Scarry’s Busy, Busy Town.  My awesome pen pal friend, Leah, gave me IB this one.  It’s long, but he can read this one over and over.  There are several pages where IB will say, “Stop.  Don’t turn the page.”  He’ll look and look at the pictures.

My People by Langston Hughes with photographs by Charles R. Smith Jr. I found this one at the Westfield, NY library.  I immediately went home and ordered it with a gift card from a generous colleague.

My sister got IB Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Williams.  Mo Williams writes for Sesame Street.  I had never heard of this one before.  IB can recite it almost word for word.  I’ve tried to record him doing it.  It is such a fun story.

Big Plans by Bob Shea and Lane Smith was a spontaneous purchase from the remainder bin before IB came home.  My 2nd graders love this book as well.  It’s about a naughty boy who has big plans to take over the world.

This Christmas IB loved Grumpy Badger’s Christmas by Paul Bright and Jane Chapman.  It has the same characters as the Bear books.  Bear Feels Scared, Bear Gets Sick, etc.  Different authors for those, but they seem very similar.

Any Curious George book is a winner with IB.

In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendack.  This is another one I’m fairly certain IB could recite.  He loves this one, as well as Where the Wild Things Are.

The Major says IB always asks for One Fish, Two Fish by Dr. Seuss whenever Papa is in charge of bedtime.  I love it when the kids ask for different books from each parent.  It makes a particular book that much more special.

–Running Girl

Leave a Reply

