Running Girl’s Best Reads of 2010

My mom kept book lists and I have her lists somewhere. It would be fun to look at hers again.  I love looking back over my lists.  For a part of a year I tried writing a little something about each book I read.  I didn’t stick with that.

I can’t compete with The Major and his mini book reports on his best reads for 2010.  I’m simply going to list mine.  I’m also listing last year’s too since apparently we didn’t compile our favorites last New Year’s.  I suppose it shows you where we were mentally last January.  In both 2009 and 2010 I read 38 books.

I am listing my top five favorites of the year.  As usual with my lists, I’m cheating a little.  I’ve included a trilogy as one selection.  I’m also listing a few books that were interesting, but didn’t make my favorites.  The adoption book and running book are ones I went back to again and again over weeks and months.

2010’s Best Reads:

Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs

Krik?  Krak! by Edwidge Danticat

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Of Note:

Netherland by Joseph O’Neill

Losing My Cool: How a Father’s Love and 15000 Books Beat Hip-hop Culture by Thomas Chatterton Williams

Innocent by Scott Turow

Marathon-You Can Do It by Jeff Galloway

Parenting Your Internationally Adopted Child by Patty Cogen

2009 Best Reads:

The Giver Trilogy by Lois Lowry

Shelter Me by Juliette Fay

The Book of Lost Things by John Connelly

Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos

–Running Girl

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Melania on January 2, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    LOVED LOVED LOVED “The Help” Thanks for helping me find new books to put on my 2011 list! Happy New Year Kay Nou!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

