The Boob Tube

TV...Bad. Animals in hats...Good.

Okay, I’m going to admit some things here that might rub some people the wrong way.  I don’t mean to offend anyone.  Please forgive me.

I don’t watch a lot of TV.  I think it’s a waste of time.  Sure, I see the appeal.  I’m sure it can be relaxing.  You don’t have to think.  After a long day I’m sure it’s a nice way to unwind.  Hey, anything to not clean up around the house.

“Screen time”?  Yes, the grown ups here at Kay Nou certainly have too much of it.  Facebook, blogs, other various social networking.  We are guilty.

We use Netflix. I would say we watch movies, but going back over last year’s list, I see that we mostly watched a few TV series.  We saw all of “The Wire”, re-watched every episode of “Six Feet Under” and we’re currently working on “Mad Men”.

I did watch TV growing up.  I remember watching shows after school.  It was never out of hand, but it really couldn’t be.  Kids’ shows were only right after school and that was it.  I remember watching what seemed like endless movies on Saturday mornings.  Anyone else remember those black and white movies from 9-1?  Tarzan, Shirley Temple, Abbott and Costello & Monster movies.  Yes, I watched a lot of those.

I went away to college and didn’t have a TV.  I moved to NYC.  Again, no TV.  One year long roommate had one.  We watched “Thirtysomething”.  See, whaddidItellyou?  Big waste of time.

I liked baseball, but I listened to games on the radio.  Living in NYC, I went to Mets and Yankees games alike.

It’s funny, but I don’t remember my parents watching much tv when I was growing up.  I can recall waking up some nights and hearing the 11:00 news on.  If I couldn’t sleep, I might sneak down during the news and score myself an extra dessert with my folks.  As I entered high school, they became addicted to “The MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour”.

At that point, they also began to watch sports.  Sports were on all.of.the.time.  We were not a big sports family.  Neither my sister or I played sports.  My parents hadn’t played sports growing up.  Instead, with the birth of cable TV, they watched any and every sport known to man.  Practically every TV in the house would be on with various sporting events being broadcast.  Both especially loved baseball.  My dad had a thing for car racing.

When I became a teacher, my mom chastised me for not following sports.  She told me that it would make for great lunchroom conversations.  My students would love sports.  She certainly knew a lot about sports and could keep up with the conversations.  At the same time, this is the lady who would play the football pool at school basing her choices on the quality of the mascot artwork or the team colors.  She even won one year using this method.

To this day, The Major and I only have one TV that works.  We “target watch” programs.  If we hear a program is going to be on that we are interested in, we will DVR it.  I can’t even remember the last thing we DRV’ed.

All of this TV talk is stemming from the fact that I feel like I’ve missed out on a certain something.  It’s Oprah.  I like her.  A few years back, I asked for her 20th Anniversary DVD set.  I enjoyed watching most of it.  I feel like I was able to catch up on the Oprah experience that I never had.

Every once in a blue moon I have been home alone at 4:00 and I’ll think to turn her on.  It’s inevitably some horrible topic like child abuse or mind numbingly boring like doing your taxes.  I’ll end up turning it off.

I don’t know if I’ve ever seen an entire episode.  Now she’s going off the air.  I hear she’s starting a new network.  I heard a report on NPR’s “Talk of the Nation” about it.  I’ve seen a few people talking about it on Facebook.

I know I’ll never watch it.  It makes me a little sad.  Not sad enough to turn it on though.  I think I’d better go see what’s happening on Facebook instead.

–Running Girl

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by lisa on January 6, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Loved those black & white movies on the weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

