A Letter to POTUS

Dear President Obama,

Hello, Sir.  How are you?  I know you’ve had a busy, busy year. According to The New York Post, in 2010 you met with numerous foreign leaders, gave countless speeches and interviews.  You instituted town hall meetings and backyard chats here in the US.  You were even in Buffalo, one fine day last spring.

According to this same article, you:

… signed 203 bills into law, including your domestic legislative priority of sweeping overhaul of the US health care system, a repeal of the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy banning homosexuals from openly serving in the military, and comprehensive financial reform redefining US markets and firms for decades to come.

I think all of this is super.  I really do.  Do you know one thing you haven’t done?  You have yet to meet my family.

I don’t know if you heard about us, but feel free to peruse our blog at kaynou.wordpress.com to get a sense of what’s been going on with us.  Here it is in a nutshell: Earthquake in Haiti on January 12th; I was evacuated by US Air Force; our 3 year old son was brought home on Humanitarian Parole on January 25th; our family met with Senator Charles Schumer;  our son became a US Citizen; and he is now in Pre-K.

Kind of a busy year for us too.

I was hoping you might reach out to us.  I thought after the earthquake and our dramatic trip home, we might hear from you.  I mean, what a photo op!  Nice, clean cut All American family, ready to do some meet and greets.

Okay, I understood that it didn’t happen right away.  In fact, I thought that was pretty considerate of you.  Island Boy, as we like to call him, was pretty shell shocked when he got home.  He met one of the US Senators right off of the bat.  That went pretty well, but I could imagine you wouldn’t want to traumatize the lad.

You came to Buffalo on Thursday, May 13th.  That might have been an opportune time to meet us.  I understood though.  It was much better for you to have taken a few moments to meet with the families from Flight 3407.  Honestly, good call, Mr. President.

Here we are, almost a year after the earthquake and I haven’t heard from you.  I said to my darling husband last night as we were drifting off to sleep, “I’m surprised we haven’t heard from the President.  He’s really cutting it down to the wire.”  Do you know that he laughed at me?  Outright laughed.  He went on to tell me I should write a blog post about my hopes and dreams.  Instead, I’m taking some time out of my busy schedule to write directly to you, Mr. President.

I am still free to clear up our schedules to meet with you next Wednesday.  We would welcome your invitation.  We’d be delighted to meet your lovely wife, as well.

Looking forward to hearing from you, President Obama.  Island Boy sends his regards to your girls and to Bo.

Love,

Running Girl

Leave a Reply

