Anniversaries

Anniversaries of traumatic events can be difficult.  The anticipation is usually worse than the actual anniversary date is.

The past few days I have been feeling the anxiety building.  It’s probably a good thing that I don’t watch a lot of television.  I am missing all of the one year reports on the aftermath from the earthquake in Haiti.

I follow friends and acquaintances online who are in Haiti to get most of my information.  I find that to be much more informative than a glossy TV program.

I was struck by the comment from a person living in Haiti that she hoped the stories about how far Haiti has to go for recovery is not overshadowed by the work that is being done.  There are plenty of people who are currently working hard to make those changes happen.  It is slow going.

I am allowing myself to have these anxious feelings about January of 2010.  It is difficult.  Part of me thinks, “What if…”  The other, louder part is saying, “Get over yourself!”  I have moved on with my life.  I am here in the comfort of my home.  I am surrounded by those I love.  Island Boy is home with us leading a brand new life.

I also am reminding myself that there are so many others who have a very different “new” reality.  People who were not whisked away from the rubble into new beds, new homes with full refrigerators, new clothes in the closet and intact families waiting with open arms.

I feel that I should do something to mark Wednesday as a day of remembrance.  I’m not sure what that is supposed to look like.  I thought about taking the day off from school, but I don’t know what I would do.  Instead, I will probably go about my day in my normal routine.

  • Off to school with a full day of teaching music to K-3rd grade.  The students will keep me smiling all day long.
  • I have a “School Planning Team” meeting after school.  We will talk about the future and strategize how to make things better for our kids.
  • I will pick Island Boy up from school and bring him to Kay Nou.
  • I will make dinner.
  • One of my favorite parts of the day is putting Island Boy to bed.  Not because I want him to go to sleep, but because I enjoy our quiet time together.
  • The Fashionista and I have grand plans to watch more of Season One of “Glee”.

Sounds like a pretty cushy day to me.  All through the day my mind will be on Haiti.  My hope is that someone will be moving out of a tent and into someplace more comfortable.  I hope that children will be going to school. I hope that people will be going to bed with a full stomach.   I hope that mothers and fathers will be planning on ways to make their children’s lives better.

–Running Girl

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Diane Winter on January 11, 2011 at 3:30 am

    Remarkable story from one of the most remarkable people I know.
    Diane

    Reply

  2. […] last year I was on a flight back to Greenville.  I was a bit sad as well.  Tara, Kristen, and Erin were all heading the same day to Haiti.  Tara to head back to her family waiting for her and […]

    Reply

  3. You and The Major have made a tremendous difference in one person’s life. If everyone did that, the world would be such a beautifully different place. Because of what you witnessed and accomplished, so many people are now more aware of the anguish and dispair the Haitian people have experienced. Take solace in what you have accomplished; more prayers will be delivered to Island Boy’s homeland because of you. The world is a better place because of you and The Major.

    Reply

  4. Posted by lisa on January 11, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    You will be in my thoughts and prayers tomorrow. Know you are loved.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

