How Not to Clear Your Driveway

My school district had it’s first Snow Day of the year today.  Miraculously, they called the day yesterday.  I was sure they were making the right call.  This was a massive storm heading our way.  The storm was wreaking havoc all along its path.  I heard on the radio this was not an “if” type of snow, but a “when” event.    This sounded like a definite storm.

It certainly looked like it was heading our way.

Apparently, around 1:30 am a warm front of air swept through and diverted the storm.  We woke up to no school and not much snow on the ground.  There was some ice, but I’m pretty sure if they had waited until this morning, all of the schools in two counties would not have been canceled.

The Major packed Island Boy off to school for some learning.  TM went to work.  Subway Dude, The Fashionista and I cleaned the house from top to bottom.

I try to be respectful of this "Widow Maker".

Happily, this kind of snow day is great for me.  Not much snow?  Time for a run!  I put on my Yak Trax and hit the road. During my run, I came up to a corner and saw a giant town snow plow on the main road.  I stopped to see if the plow was turning onto the side street where I was running.  Of course, the plow was turning into me.  There was nowhere for me to go.  I had snow banks next to me.

We saw each other, made eye contact, and I waited to see what he wanted me to do.  He gestured for me to cross to the opposite side of the street.  I complied and he completed his turn.

Great.  I thought, “Hey, the snow plow guy and I are now best buds.”  Meanwhile, I secretly think snow plow guys must hate runners.  We are in the street, in the way and probably a general nuisance to them while they are working.  Still, I felt a little bond here with this guy.  I was helpful and all.

I finished my icy run and began to tackle the sidewalk of Kay Nou.  It was tough work.  Even though we only got a few inches, there was that icy crust to contend with.  I had to break through the ice and then shovel the heavy non-Lake Effect snow.

As I was doing the sidewalks, the same snow plow made it around to our street.  He drove by and plowed the bottom of my driveway in.  Fine, no hard feelings.  He was doing his job.

A Western New Yorker's BFF from Oct-May.

Okay, honestly, I am not usually the one to shovel.  That’s what I have teenagers for, right?  My darling husband also spends ample amounts of time shoveling.  I will do whatever shoveling still needs done after my run.  I’m already outside and am working out anyway.

For several years now, I have seen people shoveling and snow blowing their driveways while I am out running in the ‘hood.  I don’t mean their whole driveways, but I have seen people shoveling the snow from the apron of their driveway into the road.  For a long time I thought it was really rude of them.  I’d think, “Hey!  I’m running here!  I now have to place my awesome running shoes onto your dirty snow.  I’m going to slip and fall.”

So, lately, if the snow has been heavy, I will sometimes shovel the snow from the end of the driveway into the road.  I figured other cars would drive over it.  No biggie.

Today, I did just that.  I finished the sidewalks and then shoveled the stuff the plow had dumped into my driveway back into the street.  I went inside.

I hadn’t even gone up to shower when the plow came back around the other direction.  I looked out of the window and saw him slow down and look at the snow in the road.  I thought, “Uh oh.  He doesn’t seem too happy about that.  Maybe we aren’t such great pals?”

The next thing I knew, he turned around and slowly drove by dumping snow back into my driveway.  He backed up, got some more snow and dumped it again.  At this point, I was shocked.  I called SD and TF over to see this.  He did it one more time.  Now I had three times the amount I originally did.

I thought it was kind of funny.  At the same time, I thought if he was trying to send me a message that I wouldn’t have gotten it if I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes.  If I had left home and come back to snow in the driveway, I would have assumed the snow plow had come by again.  Not that the driver was angry.

Not my driveway 'cause I had three times this amount.

I called The Major at work to tell him this amusing anecdote.  He was not amused.  He was angry.  He told me to call the Highway Department to complain.  Were their drivers instructed to show retribution in this manner?

So, I picked up the phone and made the call.  I spoke with a secretary at the Highway Department.  She informed me that my putting the snow back in the road was illegal.  I told her that I am not originally from Western New York and was not aware of this regulation.

She put me on with the Supervisor.  I told him my story.  He was not happy to hear this about his driver.  He said he would call him immediately and speak with him.

Here’s hoping we don’t find our mailbox knocked over after the next storm, the driveway buried in 10 feet of snow or our street never plowed again.

I do know that I will not be shoveling the snow into the road again.  I will, once again, begin glaring at people in my neighborhood who are engaging in such behaviors.  They should know better.

I’m just a Northern Virginia girl at heart.  I hear it never snows in NoVa.

My friend, Stacy's son, in NoVa this week.

–Running Girl

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stacy urick on February 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Yay! I love my Toothless Wonder! This was actually one of their first bouts with sledding . . .as you can see he LOVED it . . .I want more snow . . .bring me some of yours! BTW, the snowplows always do that to us . . .my favorite (because we are on a corner) is when they dump it all on the corner . . .right smack in front of my van . . .

    Reply

  2. I like snow, but I don’t like driving in it.

    Your Toothless Wonder is c.u.t.e.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

