Stuck Between a Bed and a Drywall

Illness continues to sneak it’s way through Kay Nou.  This weekend The Fashionista was hit pretty hard with the bug.  She spent a good portion of Saturday sleeping.

As you know, I love pajamas.  I also love sleeping.  Love, love, love sleeping.  Please don’t make the mistake of standing between me and my toothbrush around 9:30 pm.  You will be trampled by a grumpy, ready-for-bed mom-of-three.

I’m an 8-hour a night sleeper.  I am an “asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow” kind of person.  I like it that way.  I like it a lot.

Island Boy has kind of put a crimp into that portion of our lives.  I am pretty much the “go to” person in the middle of the night.  It made sense back when I was staying at home with IB.  Now it’s become a habit.  IB is not happy when TM comes to his aid in the middle of the night.

TM and I decided that a year at Kay Nou is long enough for transition time.  For the last two weeks or so we I have started to ignore his middle of the night calls.  Of course we prepped him at bedtime, “You don’t have to wake up in the middle of the night.  If you do, you can get cozy back under your blankets and go to sleep knowing you are safe.  Okay?”

Happily, it seemed to be working.  We had a night or two that were mildly unpleasant.  “Sorry, noisy neighbor!  Hope we didn’t keep you up.” Then we moved into a week and half of blissful, uninterrupted nights of sleep.  Perfect timing, with everyone feeling under the weather.

Last night, The Major and I were watching “The Girl who Played with Fire”.  It is as violent and graphic as the book.  Instead of watching it downstairs where the older two were hanging out, we watched it on the laptop in our room.

We closed the bedroom door and it stayed closed after we went to sleep.  This is unusual since we usually keep the bedroom door ajar.

Around 12:30 I heard IB crying.  I snuggled down and chose to ignore him.  I drifted back off to sleep.  The crying intensified, but was muffled with the closed door.  Something told me I’d better go check things out.

I went in to find his knee wedged between the bed frame and the wall.  This has happened before.  Normally, we remember to insert Buzz or Woody into this space after IB is asleep.  That’s what friends are for, right?

Last night, we I forgot to put Buzz and Woody on patrol.

I tried to pull his knee out.  No luck.  He was really panicking.  I told him to calm down.  Tried and tried several times to get his knee out to no avail.  I had to pull out the big guns.  The Major stumbled in to assist.

We pulled the mattress off of the bed.  Every time TM pushed against the bed frame and the wall I would say, “Ahhhh, there we go.  Just pull your knee out, IB.”

TM would grit through his teeth, “Noooooo!”  (insert grunts and grumbles)  “It didn’t move at all.”

By this point, I found the whole thing pretty comical.  IB’s room is a mess of mattress, pillows, parents in pjs,  IB screaming his head off.  There I was, overly optimistic at every turn of the way.  TM is half asleep and grumpy.

Finally, TM got the right leverage and was able to move the bed an inch.  IB got his leg out.  We put his bed together and stuffed Woody and Buzz back into their rightful spot.

IB was pretty freaked out, so I ended up laying in bed with him until he fell asleep.  Nice work, right?  How many steps back did we take right there?  None, I hope.  Falling asleep on his own isn’t the trouble.  It’s the staying asleep that has been the sticking point.

IB is not a good bed mate.  He was tossing and turning for about an hour and a half.  Jabbing knees and elbows into me.  So unpleasant.  It was a little like the first bits of this clip but definitely no funny parts, eating or dancing:

IB finally fell back asleep around 2 am.  I was able to go back to TM to catch a few zzzzz’s.

IB came in to us around 7:30.  Apparently, IB is not such a fan of pajamas.  He wanted to come into bed with us, however the minute he got there he started complaining about his pajamas.  He was quite demanding that someone get up tout de suite and get him dressed.  Once dressed, he was not content to loll about the bedroom.  “Downstairs, Everyone!  Time for us to begin our day!  Where’s my breakfast!  Let’s go, people!  Let’s go!  Time’s a-wasting!  It’s a beautiful day here at Kay Nou!”

–Running Girl

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa N on February 21, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Might I suggest one of those long body pillows (we call them “whompers” in our house 🙂 It might be perfect for Buzz & Woody’s spot. 🙂
    Those sleep habits are hard to break- my DD is famous for coming up with new ones, once we finally break the old. Hope you all can get a little rest this week with your time off.

    Reply

    • Lisa,

      I’m a huge fan of the “whomper.” I have one myself. I think that this is a brilliant suggestion.

      Running Girl, on the other hand, doesn’t want to spring for a new one.

      – TM

      Reply

      • Posted by Lisa N on February 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm

        I do not want to get into the middle of the whomper discussion, but my kids just gave me one for my b-day that was $10.00 at Costco. I think Bed Bath & Beyond carry them as well for similar prices. Isn’t a good nights sleep worth $10-15.00?? I’m just looking out for you RG. 🙂

  2. Posted by lisa on February 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Love my “whomper” couldn’t sleep without it. Maybe IB would snuggle with it & not need anyone in the middle of the night

    Reply

Leave a Reply

