Island Boy Updates

  • IB is an awesome whistler.  We had a stranger comment on his whistling abilities recently.
  • He can recite his phone number.
  • He can mostly recite his address.  He’s off by one number, but our street numbers count by 4s.  I figure if he ever got lost, someone would be able to figure out where he lives.  He may end up at a neighbor’s, but they know him well enough to not really be interested in keeping him.
  • He is going through jeans uber-fast.  I’ve replaced four pairs since December.  It’s all holes in the knees.  Now that I’ve replaced them you know he’ll be hitting a growth spurt at any moment.

Why do his pants wear out in the knees?

  • He knows his colors.  For some reason this took him awhile, but he’s got them now.
  • IB is rockin’ the alphabet.  He takes great pride in spelling out any words he sees.  This morning it was “T-O-R-T-I-L-L-A”.  This should make our tortilla-making neighbors extremely proud.  Maybe they can toss some more homemade tortillas our way the next time they whip up a batch.

  • IB’s favorite chore is a toss up between clearing and/or setting the table and washing the dishes.  Wait, he also loves tossing the laundry around the bedroom as I am attempting to fold.  Good times.  Good times.
  • IB is in a 12 Step Recovery Program for Tattling.
  • He adores talking on the phone.  Please let us know if you are ever interested in receiving a phone call from this young man.  If you are stuck in limbo — say, while freezing in a paper gown waiting for your doctor to finally come into the examination room — give IB a call.
  • IB is a fan of the coloring book.  I’m not sure why, but it took me awhile to catch on to this fact.  I love coloring.  I wish I had picked up on this earlier.  The dollar bins at Target have become a new favorite spot of mine.
  • IB recognized MLK from the back.

    He loves Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  He is quite adept at spotting Dr. King in books and magazines.  I was looking at Ebony with him last week and he said, “Look!  It’s Dr. King!”  I started to say, “No, that’s someone who looks like Dr. King.”  As the words were leaving my mouth, I realized it was a photo of Dr. King.  He always says Dr. King’s name with amazement in his voice.  It’s quite cool.

Running Girl

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by LynneLevy on February 27, 2011 at 9:26 am

    RG, Your mom loved coloring too. I have a memory of those coloring books that were all full of kaleidoscope like pictures that you colored in with whatever colors you wanted. I think we used markers not crayons.

    Reply

  2. I know exactly which ones you are talking about. My sister and I loved to draw. We had a great shoebox full of colored pencils that we used all of the time.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lisa N on February 27, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Thanks for the update– I love to read what the little guy is up to. My favorite part was the “12 step program” – hilarious. Also, thought the part about talking on the phone was sort of comical, given his mom’s ‘love’ for this past time. 🙂
    Best of all, the part about the jeans- you know that he’s a true kid, living a good life, if he’s wearing through his pants, having so much fun. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cecily on February 27, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    ahhhh homemade tortillas…luckily Grandma Becky is coming back for a visit this Memorial day. I’m putting her on tortilla-making duty from dawn till dusk so there will be plenty to share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

