Running Update

It’s been awhile since I posted about my running.  Please don’t take that to mean I haven’t been running.  Yeah, like that would happen.

I ran the National Half Marathon on March 26th, took two days off and then jumped feet first back into training.  Next on my race calendar is the Grand Island Half Marathon.

I’m a little nervous about this one.  This is a very small race.  It generally has around 400-500 runners participating.  When I run large races, it is not so obvious that I am a slow runner.  I can be in the back without feeling like I’m in the back.  There will always be runners behind me.

It’s especially nice to run a Half Marathon and to have Marathoners finishing their 26.2 miles when I am crossing the finish line of my 13.1 miles.  Seriously, you don’t feel so slow when there are super fit and elite people around you, as long as you don’t think about it too much.

400 runners?  I don’t think I’ll be last, but it may feel like I am.  With a smaller group of runners it will be more obvious that I am at the back of the pack.  Hey, I AM at the back of the pack.  I know this is true.

The Grand Island race awards medals, but not the same ones to everyone.  Women who finish under 1:45 earn a gold medal; under 2:00 earn silver and all others bronze.  Guess which one I’ll be wearing home?  My PR, a few years back, was 2:03.  I know I won’t be beating that time.

Grand Island, NY

The course sounds nice.  Here’s how the website describes the race:

The course follows a route through the park made up entirely of paved park roadways and takes participants through a mixture of parkland areas and nearby residential neighborhoods.

The starting and finish lines are in the 950-acre Beaver Island State Park, which lies just on the southern end of Grand Island near the upper part of the Niagra River. With its beach and marina areas, the park is a local favorite for swimming, boating and fishing, and also has ample nature and hiking trails as well as 18-hole courses for both disc (frisbee) golf and the kind played at Augusta National every year.

As it is run through a park with plentiful hills, the race course features a number of uphill and downhill stretches, but no major changes in elevation.

Yesterday I got out extra early and tried to beat the rain.  I was not so lucky.  It immediately began raining when I stepped outside.  Despite the rain, it was wonderful. The temperatures in the low 50s.  It definitely felt like Spring.  I’ll take it.

I was thrilled to beat the 50 mph winds we were scheduled to get.  Today I am scheduled to run 12.  Instead I was greeted with even higher wind gusts than yesterday.  They are between 50-60 mph.  Good thing it’s Spring Break.  I’m going with the option of postponing my run until tomorrow.

Two weeks until race day and then I have one more Half Marathon at the end of May.  I’m already dreaming of which Fall races I want to run.  I am planning on sticking to a few Half Marathons instead of a Full.  Less stress on the body, and still a lot fun!  Race shirts, medals and a feelings of pride.

–Running Girl

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie on April 17, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    I’m doing the Hamptons Half in the early fall. It’s supposed to be nice. http://www.hamptonsmarathon.com/
    I also like the halfs. It’s a manageable training schedule.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gail on April 17, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    You are a constant inspiration. And it did make me feel a little better that the weather did someone else in today, too. I’m doing my run after a morning doctor appt tomorrow instead. Maybe I’ll see you in May! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

