Running Hats

Spring Break 2011 involved a lot of running.  I was hoping I would be running in shorts and short sleeved shirts despite the fact that I would be running in Western NY.  Alas, it was not to be.  Not quite anyway.

Here in WNY, no matter what the calendar says, or that pesky groundhog says, we are smack dab in the middle of  the two seasons: Winter and Spring.  Someone aptly named this time of year, Sprinter.  We have had a day or two of gorgeous 60 degree weather.  We’ve also had measurable snow and 30 degree weather accompanied by 50 mph winds.

These not-so-subtle shifts between seasons are reflected in my running head gear.

I’ve set aside my serious winter gear.  We are nearing the end of April.  I think I’m pretty safe in saying we shouldn’t be having any blizzards this time of year.  I am still wearing some long running tights, but not my warmest ones.  I don’t have to layer the tights with anything else.  I can wear my long sleeved shirts, but don’t have to wear my jackets every time.  When it snowed, I wore my jacket.  It is liberating when I don’t have to wear my jacket.

Here’s the type of hat I wear when it is really cold.

It’s got the warmth of the knit cap. It covers my ears.  It keeps the wind from whistling in my ears and I can listen to my favorite podcasts.  Thankfully, I think I’m finished with these hats for the season.

This is the type of hat I wear when it’s still cold, but not below 30 or 40 degrees.

It doesn’t have quite the warmth of the knit cap.  It keeps my ears covered.  Sadly, it’s not as good at keeping the whistling out of my ears.

I wore this hat a few times this week.  I had to switch to music when the wind got to be too much.  That is really annoying when you are in the middle of a good podcast and you can’t hear what is being said.  I am mid-podcast on a few episodes from this week.

Here is the type of hat I like to wear this time of year.

A nice wicking baseball cap means the weather has turned.  No need to cover your ears.  It traps some heat since it’s not exactly summer temps yet.  It keeps the sun off of my hair.  It keeps the rain off of my face.

This week I tried to remind myself that it was fabulous to be out running in the middle of the day without having to cram a run into a busy schedule.  I had no official schedule this week.  That was really nice.

It was a bit of a drag to be switching back and forth between this hat and that hat.  One means Spring and the other mean Sprinter.  I’m done with that in between made up season.

Finally, on the penultimate day of Spring Break, I was able to pull out a pair of shorts and a t-shirt to go for a run. I’ll admit that I squealed when The Major offered to go for a 3 miler with me.  We had a great, therapeutic run together.

–Running Girl

Leave a Reply

