It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

A few weeks ago I picked IB up at school and found an invitation in his cubby addressed to me.  His class was hosting a Mother’s Day Tea on the Friday before Mother’s Day.

I momentarily wondered if I should take the time off from work to attend the tea.  Then I thought, “Duh?  How long did I wait for this guy to come home to us?  How long did he have to wait for his Mama to come and get him?  Of course I should take the afternoon off to go to the Mother’s Day tea.”

When I went to write it on the calendar I was delighted to discover that I already had that afternoon off!  I envisioned myself running a quick errand or two after work.  I’d come home and go for a nice run.  I was hopeful that the weather would be nice on a May afternoon. Then I would go to the Tea.

As the week approached, IB began to sing little snippets of songs with the theme “I love you, Mom” while we were driving in the car.  Goody!  A little performance too.  I love cute songs about loving your mom.  I was really excited.

This Spring has been really gloomy here in WNY.  Lots of rain, but at least the weather is finally getting a bit warmer.  Today the weather forecast looked good for a nice long run before the Mother’s Day Tea.  I laid my clothes out, ready to get out immediately after I got home.  Maybe I’d even have an hour at home alone after my run before the Tea.  Score!

I dragged myself to work today.  I usually get to school nice and early.  Today I didn’t feel like even leaving the house.  I got to school right at 8 am.

I was enjoying my morning teaching when my phone rang.  It was The Major.  He received a call from IB’s school saying IB had a 104 temperature.

I love TM’s response to this information.  We laugh about this kind of response when we get it on our end at school.  TM responded incredulously.  “He was fine when I dropped him off!”  They said he wasn’t eating.  TM said, “I just took him out for breakfast!  Why would he be hungry?”  I told TM that I was pretty sure they weren’t making up IB’s temperature just to get rid of him.  I reminded TM that kids do get sick pretty quickly.

The Major graciously agreed to pick IB up from school.  We would tag off at home around lunchtime and TM would go back to work.

There went my afternoon.  No run.  No Mother’s Day Tea.  Instead I would be home mothering.  That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?  Not the pretty pictures or the homemade Mother’s Day trinkets.  It’s the get-down-and-dirty parenting that is the real stuff.

TM and I commented that (knock on wood) this is the first time this year we’ve been called to pick anyone up from school.  IB has missed one day of school due to illness this year.  TF has missed one.  SD has missed two.  That’s a pretty good track record.

TM brought work home and ended up working at Kay Nou all afternoon.  I suppose I could have snuck out for a run.  Instead I knew I needed to be home for my little man.

Under the weather, despite the weather

Sure enough, he was on the couch, doped up on a Tylenol cocktail, watching “Snow White” when IB turned to me and said, “Mama?  Can you come over here?  Can I sit on your lap, please?  I am sooooooo sick.”

How could I refuse such a request?  He was shivering and complaining that his head hurt.  It’s 60 degrees and sunny out, but we have the windows shut, so IB can warm up.  There’s nowhere else I’d rather be.

Happy Mother’s Day, everyone!

I received this beautiful delivery this week at school. Not for Mother's Day, but "just because".

–Running Girl

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lisaN on May 6, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    awwww…hope the little guy feels better real soon! 😦
    Happy Mothers day!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cecily on May 6, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    There was a little girl who demanded we walk by your house twice today to see if IB would be out. No such luck. Let him know there’s a special someone eagerly awaiting his return to good health. Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Teresa Lancer on May 7, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Nervously waiting to hear his diagnosis. Hopefully, just a little virus. Love, Nana & Grandpa

    Reply

  4. Posted by Eden on May 8, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Hope he feels 100% better soon! Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

