Andy Parker’s Weather Machine

My school is trying to win a visit from a local weatherman.  WGRZ’s Andy Parker brings in a weather machine and does an assembly for the students.  We’ve heard he has two kids create an electrical charge between their fingers to learn about lightning.  He has an electricity ball that will have a student’s hair stand on end.  He creates a tornado in a wind tunnel.

Sounds cool, right?

Each morning WGRZ gives out a special weather word.  The word is given over our morning announcements.  The teachers and students vote during computer time, in their classrooms and are encouraged to vote at home.  The whole school has been voting.

My school has been in first place.  The second place school is gaining on us.  Coincidentally, the second place school is an elementary school from my own kids’ district.

This afternoon I asked The Fashionista if she would be willing to vote for me.  She said, “Sure.”

I said, “Here, let me show you how to do it.”  I began to get her set up on the computer.  She started to act very impatient with me.  I said, “I’m just trying to show you how to do it.”  TF said, “I already know how.  I’ve voted before.”  I said, “You have?”  She said, “Yes, we voted in computer class for the number 2 school.”

WHAT?  The middle school kids are voting for an elementary school?  That’s just wrong.  Okay, not really, but they’re gaining on us!

Please help out my school.  Go to http://www.wgrz.com.  Click on “Weather Machine”.  County: Erie.  School: Ben Franklin Elementary.  Weather Word this weekend: sprinkle.

You can vote as many times as you want.  I have a little short cut:  I click the back arrow and it keeps the top three fields filled.  I had one of my classes time me.  I can vote 9 times in one minute.  How about you?

–Running Girl

4 responses to this post.

  1. My dead grandmother just voted twice. Is good?

    Reply

  2. NO! I voted 9 times in one minute. She doesn’t have one lousy minute for me?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Eden on May 8, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    I voted! Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Thanks, Eden!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

