The Big Lie/The Big Hope

No clever pictures on this one.  Sorry.

What sustains you through the tough times?  What keeps you going?  What gives you hope?

Lately, The Major has not been posting as often as in the past.  This does not mean that I have lost enthusiasm for the project.  Not at all.

It’s just that life has been a little challenging recently.  It has seemed that my only breakfast cereal has been “Kick ‘n the Nuts” for the past few months.  Here’s your spoon, pal.  No milk today.  Eat up!

It’s a dry patch.  I’ll get through.  Things will be better than ever.  No shit.  I know they will.

I try not to go negative on this site.  Number A, no one wants to read someone else’s dark thoughts.  And 2, this positive blog is one of the things that helps to get through the sticker bushes.

What gets you through?  Is it faith in God above?  Plunging into the sports pages?  Lacing up and going for an eight mile run?  Laying  down clever little words on a white screen?  Breaking your back in the garden, helping Moms Nature to push up fresh life from the ground?  Eating up pavement while pushing your tin bike up and down hills?  Listening to (The Rev) Al Green plaintively make sense of the pain with some angelic backup singers?

I hope it’s not amber-colored fluid or white tabs or powder.  Sometimes, that seems like a good alternative.  But, it’s actually two steps backward.

∩∩∩

Sonny told Michael, It’s not personal.  It’s just business.  Sonny was wrong.  That’s one of the reasons he ended up full of holes at a tollbooth on the causeway.

In fact, it’s all personal.

Here’s what I mean: we reach an age — it could be 40; it could be 29; it could even be much older — when we start to figure out what life is (and, more importantly, what life isn’t).

Now, once you gain this wisdom, what do you do with it?

You now know that life is not a fairy tale.  It’s a series of things.  There are some really good things along the way.  However, you will also have to get through some bad playdough as well.  I don’t care if you are Elizabeth II, Mickey Mantle, Richard Branson, Rodney the Janitor or Amy Winehouse.  No one escapes this formula.

The secret is staying positive.  Sure, the bad Jujubes can get us all down at times.  But, how do you get through it?  Once you’re old enough to figure out what does it for you — freaking do it!  Don’t wallow in the muck.  Pull yourself out of it.

My partner, Lenny, recently reminded me: the measure of a person is not how many times he or she gets knocked down.  It’s how quickly the person gets up.  Corny?  Possibly.  But true.

Life can be a big lie.  But, there are also cafeteria-sized portions of hope out there.  You just need to know where to look for them.

It doesn’t have to be: I’m going to adopt an orphan from Haiti.  It can be as simple as, “No matter how shitty I get treated, I’m going to hold the door with a smile for every single person with whom I come into contact today.”

Figure it out.  But, you need not do it alone.  Priest, therapist, Rabbi, BFF, pen-pal, brother or sister.  We all need a hand or an ear sometimes from our support network.  As Mick sang:

Well, we all need…someone…we can lean on.

And if you want it…you can lean on me.

Sermon over.  Go forth and kick ass.

And, be nice to one another.

— The Major

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Becky on May 29, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I read. I look up old literary friends-Jo March, Elizabeth Bennet, Betsy Ray-and let them take me away from my troubles. Or I play with my kids. Seeing the world through their eyes never fails to put things in perspective.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lisaN on May 29, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Thanks for the wonderful message. My faith and church is what has brought me through some dark hours (months) this past year. I enjoy the company of the people we have befriended there- the message is often similar to your “sermon” above.
    We all have problems, but on a whole, we are VERY blessed and we focus on how can we spread our good fortune to others. We help those who are down in the church, we send money to children around the world. Our youth do a “work camp” to help with repairs in communities where its needed. In the fall we are packing 1000’s of bags of food for “Kids against Hunger” program.

    In 2011 I have watched a friend die from cancer, my husbands job in limbo, my father deterioate dramatically from parkinsons, my mom have major back surgery– but focusing on the positive- helps me keep upbeat through it all.

    Thanks Major 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

