Running Mojo

We spent this past week on vacation. I have had many a vacation where I have insisted on logging my miles each day.  On this trip I tried to let myself relax and not worry so much.

Whenever I take a break from running I am reminded of what I hear theater people feel.  Even very successful theater folk, those who make a full-time living at it, worry that each job will be their last.  No one will want to hire them again.

Running feels a bit like that to me.  I worry that if I take a break my body will rebel and I will never be able to run again.

Meanwhile, I look back at my vacation.  I pull up my running log ready to add whatever measly miles I was able to squeeze in.  Lo and behold, I find that I actually got some workouts in.

Saturday, June 25: 30 minutes on elliptical at hotel in Wytheville, VA. (The treadmill was broken.)

Tuesday, June 28: 25 minutes of grueling hill work.  I attempted to run up and down the side of the hill where our house sat in the Smoky Mountains of TN.  I ended up walking up and down some of the hills.  They were crazy steep.

Wednesday, June 29:  30 minutes  a hotel treadmill in Harrisonburg, VA.

Friday, July 1: 30 minutes running loops around our hotel in Herndon, VA.

Saturday, July 2: Home Sweet Home for a 4.2 miler.  I love the WNY weather.  Not too hot.  Not too humid.

So, here I am worrying about my non-running week, only to find that I did okay.  I didn’t sit around like a lazy lay-about.  I got up and got some exercise in.  I certainly did not lose my running mojo while I was on vacation.

Now I’m excited about the rest of the summer. I hope to log lots and lots of miles.  For the fun of it.  I’ll be running because it feels good.  I will run at any time of day or night, just because I can.

–Running Girl

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Eden on July 6, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Awesome! You are a running machine who enjoys running! Rock on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

