Siblings

We are lucky here at Kay Nou.  Our children get along most of the time.  They seem to genuinely like each other.  There are no major blow ups at our house for the most part.

I remember growing up and having friends who did not get along with their siblings.  It was not pleasant to be around.  My sister and I got along.  We had a few years when we argued more than usual.  I’ll admit that I had a few days when I would slink around school hoping not to run into my sister as I was wearing her pants, shoes, earrings, or fill in the blank.

Siblings

When my sister went away to college, we began to write letters to each other.  I have always thought she was extra cool.  I still do.  I think my kids will feel the same way about each other as they grow up.

Do all siblings have corner stores to walk to?  My sister and I had High’s as our corner store.  I remember when we would round up neighborhood kids to walk to High’s.  It wasn’t actually on the corner.  It felt like it was about a mile away, but distances always seem longer when you are a kid.

SD and TF have a corner store to walk to.  As a runner, I know it is .3 miles to our local Wilson Farms.  It is located in a plaza that includes the Subway where SD works.

SD and TF have been walking up to the corner for a few years now.  They have been a fan of Subway for many years.  SD has been employed there for 8 months.  I have joined the kids in stopping at Subway now and then.  It’s nice to go when SD is working.  It’s fun to see him at his job.

On Sunday SD was scheduled to work.  The rest of us had a few errands to run at the mall.  As we wrapped up our afternoon it was around lunchtime.  I asked who wanted to stop at Subway.  Everyone agreed.

SD rolled his eyes with a smile as we walked in.  It’s always a mixture of pleasure and embarrassment when your family visits you at work when you’re a teenager.  It probably doesn’t help that IB acts like he hasn’t seen you in months and months.  “SD!!!!” , he yells, almost at the top of his lungs.

SD knows our orders and begins assembling our sandwiches without any direction.  Suddenly, TF says, “WHAT are you doing?  Oh my gosh, is that what’s been happening all this time? ”  SD began laughing.

Yum!

I had no idea what they were talking about.  It turns out that for these past 8 months, whenever SD makes TF’s sandwich, he always slips one, single jalapeno pepper into her sub.

TF never figured it out.

A co-worker of SD’s laughed.  She’s not so subtle.  She said she always covers her brother’s sandwich in jalapenos.  Aren’t siblings wonderful?

–Running Girl

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lisa on July 3, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Yes they are! I miss mine a lot 😦

    Reply

  2. Posted by Eden on July 6, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    LOVE IT! I totally remember the walks to Highs. And the local pool. And the trails. Good times. I love the single jalapeno! Just enough to be irritating, but not so much to make her suspicious. Too funny!
    XOXOXO
    Eden

    Reply

Leave a Reply

