Derek Jeter Makes Me Feel…

…proud of his many accomplishments, including his 3,000 hits.

…like I am 11 years old again.  I am at the “new” Yankee Stadium (which is actually now the old Yankee Stadium which had just been renovated).  I am beholding a world of marvels.  The players are gods.  I have my baseball glove on.

…gratified that I have invested so much of my life in this particular sports team.

…historically significant.  I will be able to tell my grandchildren and great-grandchildren that I saw Derek play many times.   I feel like my grandfather who told me that he had seen Babe Ruth play.

…renewed in my belief that there are some athletes who can serve as role models for our youth.  His goodness washes away the stain of Bonds, Giambi, Clemens, Canseco, McGuire et al.

…validated in my concept of leadership through good example.

…like I could be friends with this man if given the opportunity.

…grateful for the chance to bond with my children over an athlete’s endeavor.

…gratified that I got to see this man emerge as a fresh, raw young player and develop into a superstar, while delivering a consistently successful performance over the course of the past 15 years or so.

…a contact high nearly every time he is at the plate.

…a little envious that one guy could seemingly have it all.

…slightly less cynical about professional sports and the obscenely extravagant sums of money paid out to men who play children’s games.

…even prouder to be American.

…curious as to which singer, actress or supermodel he will date next.

…wise in that I knew that this player would become the tremendous star that he is.

…entitled to brag.

…the significance that no Yankee will ever wear No. 2 again.

…secure in the knowledge that Jeter will be inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in the first year of his eligibility.

…that he is truly my Captain.

…more certain in Walt Whitman’s pronouncement,“I see great things in baseball. It’s our game – the American game.

— The Major

One response to this post.

  1. I’m with you all the way on this one, Major. He is indeed the best player baseball has produced in the modern era when you consider what he’s done and how he’s represented his team and baseball in general. My favorite Yankee player alongside my favorite manager, Billy Martin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

