The Beginning, The Middle, and The End

Today was the first day of school.

  • It was Subway Dude’s first day as a senior in high school.
  • It was The Fashionista’s first day as a freshman in high school.
  • It was Island Boy’s first day of kindergarten.

They all came through just fine.  One minor glitch — IB left his backpack on the bus.  But, it was his first bus ride.  I wish I could have been home to see his face when he got home.  He was so excited over the prospect of riding “Big Yellow.”

It is now 8:00 p.m.  IB is passed out in his bed (highly unusual).  He was exhausted.

SD and TF are at marching band practice until 8:30.  I bet you they’ll be tuckered when they get home.

Running Girl wanted to get in a quick three miles this morning at “zero dark thirty.”  I talked her out of it.  She now hitting the pavement.  She needed release.  It was her first day with students too.

The Major had a big day too.  But this post really isn’t about him.

We haven’t had a “first day of school” this significant since 1998.  On September 15 of that year: SD started preschool; TF started day care; RG started her first real teaching gig; and TM started a new (and much needed) job that turned into a fabbo 10-year gig.

Getting back to the present, I was struck by the poignancy of this one day: each of my children are beginning milestone years.  We didn’t plan it this way, folks.  In fact, I’m not sure that I would recommend such a large span between children to anyone.

But, now that we are here, it feels right.

Some of you are probably wondering how IB did with the drop off this morning.  Like a champ, he kissed me at school and said, “Good-bye, Dad.”

I would call him my hero.  But, I so damned proud of all the rest of Kay Nou that I don’t want to single anyone out.

We know we have some rough days ahead of us as we navigate our way through the Island Boy Kindergarten experience.  But, today is a day for spiking the ball and doing one of the dances that the NFL frowns upon in the end zone.

— The Major

Leave a Reply

