Fall Running

Today is a day when a person can be truly thankful to be a runner.  The weather couldn’t have been more perfect.  Clear, bright blue, sunny skies.  Temperatures in the high 50s when I started out.  It was glorious.

I got out around 8:30 for an 8 mile run.  This is my last run before my half marathon next weekend.  I was unusually tired yesterday and actually opted to skip my run.  I usually will push myself through a run when I’m tired, telling myself I’ll be thankful when I’m done.  It is rare to finish a run without even a small sense of accomplishment.  Yesterday I really wasn’t feeling it.  Instead I hit the hot tub.  This morning I was eager to get out to enjoy the day.

I told The Major about a new route I wanted to try out.  I wondered if it might not have enough shoulder on the road to be safe.  He assured me that he’s ridden his bike on it several times and that he considered it safe. Having TM’s stamp of approval I decided to give it a go.

Go Bills!

This route was a great new find.  Long runs in the fall can be tricky.  I like to run in our neighboring town, Orchard Park, home of the Buffalo Bills.  On Sundays when there are home games there can be a lot of traffic out on the road.  For some reason, there are people out there who like to honk at runners, presumably to show their team spirit.  It scares the heck out of me every time it happens.  This route is out of the way of the football traffic.  I hardly saw anyone.  On the stretch of road I was worried about I saw about 4 cars.  Perfect.

I love looking out for wildlife while out on my runs.  Last week I saw wild turkeys.  On the new road I was trying out, TM and I have seen a fox on more than one occasion.  I was looking forward to seeing what I might spot.  I saw deer and geese, which is typical.  I also saw a huge hawk on a telephone wire.  No fox this time.

Next Saturday I’ll run the Nike Hospice Half Marathon.  It is a new race which begins in Lewiston, NY.  I’ll be sure to post a race report next week.  The course looks like it will be very interesting, with a lot of historic sites along the way.

Hospice holds a special place in my heart.  When I signed up I was able to name people I was running to honor: my parents.  I’m so excited to be able to run in their memory.  My dad was a runner and  I know that both of my parents would be proud of my running accomplishments.

I hope it’s another crisp, fall day next Saturday.  I am really looking forward to this run.

–Running Girl

3 responses to this post.

  1. I also dedicated my run next week to a family member… my mother. Hospice made her final days more bearable. I am thankful for the support they gave to our family and the humane care they gave to my mother who, because of Alzheimers, couldn’t speak for herself.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tara on September 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    sure wish i could join you for this half …. my very favorite distance for sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

