The Barber of Steubenville

I’m half-awake and I’m listening to the Barber of Steubenville.

I can’t remember if I think his voice is really good,

Or if I have allowed sentimentality to overrun my senses.

Dino’s duende is clouding my vision.

What is it about allowing yourself to be perceived

As something less than you are?

How can this add to the one’s appeal?

“If you’re in on the joke with me,

You know it’s only apple juice,”

The man suggests with a figurative wink.

The ice cubes in his glass remind me of maracas.

“Why over-think this one?” I ask myself.

“Just lay back and allow yourself to be taken along for the ride.”

— The Major

Leave a Reply

