Game: Didn’t that used to be called something else?

This one is straightforward.  I’m giving you the old names for familiar places.

The answer will be either a city or a country.

Example:  Persia

Answer = Iran


  1. New Amsterdam
  2. Edo
  3. Dahomey
  4. Hibernia
  5. Indochina
  6. Iberia
  7. Lutece
  8. York
  9. Gaul
  10. Losantiville
  11. Carthage
  12. Burma
  13. Asia Minor
  14. Peking
  15. Caledonia
  16. Constantinople
  17. Lusitania
  18. Leningrad
  19. Christiania
  20. Fort Dearborn

Bonus:  Ivory Coast

Anyone can Google.  Real players don’t.

Here are the answers.

— The Major


8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa N. on October 11, 2010 at 9:33 am

    wow, you make my brain hurt early in the morning, after 2 nights of no sleep. I know real players don’t google them, but at least I still learn something, if I look up the answers. lol Thanks for the interesting quizzes & activities for my brain. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Don on October 11, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    for more brain-teasing: Upper Volta, Khmer Republic, Zaire, Bohemia, Abyssinia, Nyasaland, French Sudan, New Spain, Yugoslavia, Ceylon, Siam, Rhodesia (2 answers)

    Not that these came from the same list… 🙂

    Reply

    • Without Googling:

      Khmer Republic = Cambodia
      Zaire = Democratic Republic of the Congo
      Bohemia is a region of the Czech Republic
      Abyssinia = Ethiopia
      Nyasaland = Kenya
      Yugoslavia = Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzigovina and a few others
      Ceylon = Sri Lanka
      Siam = Thailand
      Rhodesia = Zimbabwe

      I will have to look up Upper Volta, French Sudan and New Spain.

      Good stuff, Don.

      Reply

      • I Googled.

        Upper Volta = Burkina Faso (I forgot that I knew this one).
        French Sudan = Mali
        New Spain = Mexico and the U.S. Southwest

      • Oops. Got Nyasaland wrong. It’s actually Malawi.
        I guess I need to brush up on my African geography.

  3. Posted by Don on October 12, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Part of Rhodesia also became Zambia.
    Those poor Yugoslavs: carved into pieces.
    Iberia also included Portugal I believe.

    What famous boxing match was held in Zaire?

    Reply

    • Ali vs. Foreman, “The Rumble in the Jungle.”
      What was the name of the strongman who ruled Zaire with the big, black glasses?

      The Iberian peninsula also includes Portugal. However, the Roman name for that province was Lusitania.

      Reply

Leave a comment